Wudang Baduanjin Qigong Tutorial

Wudang Baduanjin Qigong Tutorial

Wudang Baduanjin Qigong is a special form of the classic Eight Pieces of Brocade exercises, adapted to the spiritual and martial traditions of the Wudang Mountains, aiming to harmonize one's energy for better health and spiritual development. It consists of eight basic movements designed for strength and health. Unlike Wuxing Qigong which has fixed poses, Baduanjin focuses on dynamic movements that combine tension and relaxation. Performing these movements helps to align, fix, and strengthen both the body and its internal energy pathways.

Baduanjin Qigong offers a significant advantage in harmonizing the Heart-Kidney axis, an important principle within Chinese Medicine. Additionally, it plays a crucial role in cultivating a healthy and well-maintained balance between the Du Mai and Ren Mai, the vessels spanning the front and back of the body. Both of these concepts are mutually enhancing each other.

Go through this article first, if you wish to understand the meaning behind the practise first, it will explain the meaning of the Heart-Kidney-Axis and the relation to Ren Mai and Du Mai:

Heart-Kidney Axis and the Central Channels
In Classical Chinese Medicine, the complex relationship between the heart and kidney is rooted in the ancient philosophy of Yin and Yang, providing insights into the body’s harmonious functioning and the maintenance of vital energies. The heart-kidney axis is a fundamental concept and, the interconn…

Baduanjin Qigong

Eight Brocades Qigong—Understanding the practise

In this tutorial, we will go through all eight movements piece by piece and discuss the relevance of the movements in the context of CCM.